SAVE THE DATE October 6th-9th 2022

Message from the President

The annual CAWEE Conference is back so please plan right now. The conference will be from Thursday, October 6 through Saturday, October 8, 2022, at the Bakersfield Marriott and Convention Center. This promises to be a very informational conference and will have a host of assets everyone can take back to their school districts. Please book your reservations now. It is important for there are 250 rooms available and they will reserve on a first come first serve basis.


Stress-free moving

from start to finish

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Maecenas in nunc eget enim tincidunt dignissim. Donec eu metus magna. Nulla vehicula sed diam a tempor. Donec iaculis ac dui ac porttitor.


Dr. Michael A. Esposito

Thursday, October 6th through Saturday, October 8th 2022 Where: Bakersfield Marriott and Convention Center 801 Truxtun Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93301
$350 includes conference and annual professional development. Hotel Rooms: $139.00 per night. Book your group rate for CAWEE ATTENDEE
Four speakers every 90 minutes that pertain to all aspects of CAWEE
Saturday evening from 6:00-10:00 following the conference
Registration will be open in July 2021 on

Get Excited to move




Thursday, October 6th through Saturday, October 8th 2022 Where: Bakersfield Marriott and Convention Center 801 Truxtun Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93301



$350 includes conference and annual professional development. Hotel Rooms: $139.00 per night. Book your group rate for CAWEE ATTENDEE



Four speakers every 90 minutes that pertain to all aspects of CAWEE



Saturday evening from 6:00-10:00 following the conference



Registration will be open in July 2021 on



Dr. Michael A. Esposito

Our happy customers

We’ve helped thousands of people move

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed auctor turpis eu arcu sagittis, id sagittis justo suscipit.

Codey Joyner

UrbanAcres, LLC


“My move was way less stressful than expected! Movely packed everything, stored it for a week, and moved it all to my new home just as promised!”

Eren Hill

H&H Legal Partners


“Movely provided a very professional service when we moved offices last month. They were easy to work with and moved everything on time.”

Emanuel Sadler



Best experience ever! I desperately needed a mover to help with a last minute relocation, and Movely was so helpful in making it a seamless process!”

Moves in the past year
0 +
Customer satisfaction Rate
0 /5
Professional team members

Message from the CAWEE Scholarship Committee Chair

If you teach Work Experience, please encourage your students to apply for the CAWEE Scholarship. $1,000 granted to the recipients. Please visit the members-only section of to find the application or click on the link provided. Shirley Blanchard:

New Employment Laws For 2022

How did the California employment laws change in 2022? With higher wages and more protections for employees! California will have the highest statewide minimum wage in the U.S. as of January 1, 2022, at $15 an hour — a $1 an hour increase from 2021. However, the California law only applies to employers who have 26 or more employees. Businesses with 25 or fewer employees will pay a minimum of $14 per hour. On January 1, 2023, the rate will increase to $15 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees.

Certain counties within California have elected to increase the minimum wage to a rate higher than $14 – $15 per hour. The highest paying counties are Emeryville, CA at $17.64 per hour, and Hollywood, CA (Hotel workers) at $17.64 per hour.


What should you do if a student asks for assistance when they’re not being paid on time or not being paid the correct hourly amount? The minor can either file a Wage Claim with the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (the Labor Commissioner’s Office), and/or file a lawsuit in court against the employer to recover lost wages. Additionally, if the minor no longer works for this employer, he/she can make a claim for the waiting time penalty pursuant to Labor Code Section 203. You should refer the minor employee to your DOL contact for more information and assistance filing a Wage Claim correctly.


Under a new law, Senate Bill 639, no new sub-minimum-wage licenses will be issued for employers beginning in January 2022. Existing licenses may not be renewed after 2024.

By law, disabled workers may be paid less than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour. Advocates say the practice encourages the hiring of workers with mental or physical disabilities, but opponents call it unfair exploitation. Sheltered workshops such as those operated by Goodwill Industries employ more than 5,000 Californians with disabilities. Some workers are paid as little as $2 an hour. In recent years, Alaska, Maryland, Nevada, New Hampshire, Oregon, and Texas have also made it illegal to pay workers with disabilities less than minimum wage. Remember, there is no distinction made between adults and minors when it comes to payment of the minimum wage.

Minors must be paid at least the minimum wage and applicable overtime rates and must be provided with all legally required meal and rest breaks. High school graduates or the equivalent must be paid commensurate with adults when they perform the same quantity, quality, and classification of work. This includes wage rates that are above the minimum wage


Workplace safety and an explosion of COVID-19 infections across large companies such as supermarket chains , meatpackerss , fast-food outlets , and warehouses highlighted the weak penalties of California’s worker safety laws. And workplace safety agency Cal/OSHA, with just one inspector per 103,000 workers, has said it is too understaffed to visit 80% of sites where workers complain of safety violations.

Violations of child labor laws carry serious civil and criminal penalties. The more severe civil penalties generally involve employment in hazardous occupations. Criminal violations of child labor laws are misdemeanors punishable by fines ranging up to $10,000, by jail time of up to six months, or both fines and imprisonment.

New Workspace Safety Laws taking effect in January 2022 will protect employees in the Garment Industry, Food Delivery, and Disabled Workers. Tougher enforcement of health and safety rules will take place, for example, by outlawing piecework in the garment industry and reining in unsafe speed quotas at warehouses.


For consistency, all California schools are required to use the same forms/documents when issuing work permits, entertainment permits, and permits for unpaid trainees & volunteers. Custom-made forms are unacceptable and are not allowed by the California Department of Education or the California Department of Industrial Relations. This law applies to all public, private, charter, online, and homeschool.

The forms/documents used are free and easy to access by school staff, students, and parents. Forms can be found on the CDE and DIR websites as well as from any search engine on the internet. Here is a list of the forms used and a description for each form.

CDE B1-1 form = Request for a Work
Permit or Age Certificate

CDE B1-4 form = Work Permit or Age

CDE B1-6 form = Permit for Unpaid
Trainee or Volunteer

DLSE277A form = Permit to work in
the Entertainment Industry

Compliance is important – If a business/employer were to be auditedby the DOL and found using custommade forms instead of appropriate work permit forms approved by CDE, the business would be in violation and could face heavy penalties/fines.


School sites are required to keep completed/signed work permit requests for a minimum of 4 years before purging and shredding. Work Permit records are treated as confidential documents because they contain the minor’s personal information including social security number, birth date, address, phone number, etc. Dawn Marino

CAWEE Student of the Month

Congratulations to Rufina Ramirez from Hodge California for being named CAWEE student of the month! Please send your nominations for CAWEE Student of the Month to

CAWEE Educator of the Month

Congratulations to Omar Sevilla’ from San Diego Unified School District for being named CAWEE Educator of the month! Please send your nominations forCAWEE Student of the Month to

Board Meetings

The CAWEE Board meetings take place at 3:30 pm on the first Wednesday of every month.


Susan Chrisco Clark Carter


Shirley Blanchard Tim Riche


Bill Dobson


Have some fun and complete our puzzle as you challenge your knowledge of California Child Labor Laws. The first member to submit correct answers will receive a prize. Send your answers by email to . The deadline to submit entries is 5:00 pm February 28, 2022. The winner will be announced in the March newsletter.
Good luck!

Sign up to join the CAWEE
Program and Standards Committee

© 2024Cawee. All Rights Reserved.